Please sign in to post.

Packing cubes

I've never used packing cubes before, but I decided to finally give them a try. I went through my packing list and decided how I thought I might group all the stuff I travel with to get an idea which cubes to buy. I went with this set from ebags and they arrived today.
https://www.ebags.com/product/ebags/ultralight-packing-cubes-super-packer-5pc-set/309406?productid=10408194&cat=packing-aids&country=US&currency=USD&ebcpkey=keywords&couponid=94790994&sourceid=ADWPRODEBAGS&adtype=pla&gclid=Cj0KCQjwocPnBRDFARIsAJJcf94NHlM_OLF9iRtGyBu7O8SFBCpMflLoGkORQyIgxXL21CCvIFY1sEQaAgjIEALw_wcB

They seem well made with good quality zippers. after removing tags, labels, etc. I weighed the entire set at 9.3 oz. I'm going to pack them as planned, put them in my bag and see how it goes. If it looks worthwhile I'll see if my wife wants to try a set too. I know lots of people use and love packing cubes. I've just never really been motivated to give them a try. We've got trips planned this summer and fall so we'll see how it goes.

Posted by
4299 posts

The first time you unpack in a hotel room and just take out the packing cubes and put them in the drawers, you will fall in love with them.

Posted by
23240 posts

Except I can do the same with zip lock bags at a tenth of the cost and even lighter. And I can write on them as to content.

Posted by
2700 posts

I’m a recent convert. For underwear and socks sure a zip lock would work. For polyester T shirts which I wear a lot in Europe (Under Armour and the like) I like a packing cube. Things stay neat, organized, not wrinkled. So, just back from 3 weeks in Italy with a small cube for socks and underwear, larger one for folded pullover shirts, and I fold the rest of my clothes per this video https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PDn9l20NlWw. Sort of a hybrid approach but it worked very well. Made packing and unpacking very fast.

Posted by
2745 posts