Please sign in to post.

Reasonable itinerary?

Hi all. I’d like to start off giving thanks to everyone posting and offering advice. I’ve been reading a lot of your ideas.

I am planning a summer 3 weekish long trip for my fit mother and me. I say weekish because time really isn’t a concern. I am a teacher with summer vacation and my mother is retired. I believe costs can be reasonably within our budget. I have 6k in spending money and another 1.2k for airfare. My mom has a similar budget.

She’s never gotten to travel for leisure and her dream has been to visit Europe. She has stressed she’d like to see it before she is unable to enjoy walking around comfortably .She has thrown out places places she’s like to see—some specific and some just vague descriptions.

She has specifically mentioned she’d like to see Paris, Venice, Rome, and “Germany “. Recently she’s expressed interest in “Switzerland”, too.

I’ve bought and read two RS guidebooks: “…Through the Backdoor” and “Best of Europe”. They have been a great help and I’ve mapped out an itinerary. I was hoping to get feedback on its logistical nightmare or soundness. In other words, I am curious whether getting to each place would be reasonably possible and would the time given to each place be a reasonable enough time not to feel rushed.

If you that managed to make sense, here is an outline of our June trip:

-4 nights London ( first day to manage jet lag from LAX. )

-3 nights Paris (Taking the Eurostar. Is this too short a time considering we are spending part of the day traveling from London. I know it is a quick train ride but when everything else is considered, it seems like this could turn into having really only two full day and nights in Paris).