Please sign in to post.

Hotel location

Good morning, This is my first time going to Paris, I always read in this forum about the arrondissement the hotels should be, to be well located. The hotel that I made a reservation with is in the 15th Arrondissement. Does that mean that is not in a good area?

thanks

Posted by
776 posts

Not necessarily. The 15th is a big arrondissement. Where abouts in the 15th? Yes, people do suggest staying in the lower numbered arrondissements, but with Paris' excellent transportation system outer locations can be just fine as long as they're near a metro.

Posted by
34 posts

The hotel is located in 46 rue De La Croix Nivert - 75015 Paris

Posted by
776 posts

Some will suggest that you stay closer in. Depends on your age and length of stay as this is a "quieter" area of Paris . . .but some like it for that reason. Map where you want to go in Paris and note the distances. The # 6 metro at Cambronne with the #2 forms a metro belt around Paris so this will not take you to central Paris. The #8 at La Motte Picquet will.

Posted by
34 posts

I guess I was just focusing to be close to the tower and I read the Eiffel tower was just 20 minutes away by walking. I will only stay 3 nights. I'm wondering now if I made a mistake and should look for another hotel in another arrondissement. (sigh!)

Posted by
8293 posts

Email your hotel and ask about how far to walk to get the No 42 bus, which stops at Champs de.Mars ( Tour Eiffel) on its way to Gare du Nord. We often stayed at a hotel on rue Emile-Zola in the 15th and used the No 42 to and from the hotel.

Posted by
1829 posts

There really is no right answer on where it is best to stay, only opinions. You will be in a safe area if that is a concern.
I think most Americans (definitely myself included) think of Paris and the Eiffel Tower is the first thing that comes to mind, when initially thinking of lodging the obvious thought is I should stay as close to the tower as possible.