Please sign in to post.

Best of Adriatic Tour

HI: I'm booked for the Best of Adriatic Tour beginning May 4 in Ljubljana. My friend and I will fly in a few days early to get acclimated. My question is: We begin the tour in Ljubljana but end in Dubrovnik. Regarding air flight reservations. What is the best way to book this? Buy two one-way flights? Buy a round trip ticket and an additional one way flight from Dubrovnik back to Ljublijana and then fly home? I'm new at this. Please help.

Thank you.

Posted by
753 posts

It seems to me, but then maybe I’m missing something, two one way tickets would be a lot more expensive than a round trip flying into Ljubljana and out of Dubrovnik.

Posted by
11179 posts

What OP should be looking at is 'multi-city' ( aka 'open jaw') to at least to explore their options.

Two one way tickets is likely to be horribly and unnecessarily expensive. That should be the LAST option.

Posted by
7283 posts

I went on this tour last year and really enjoyed it! I’ll add the link to my trip report, so you can see what I did when I arrived early. Definitely recommend that cave tour!

https://community.ricksteves.com/travel-forum/trip-reports/june-2023-trip-report-14-day-rs-best-of-the-adriatic-tour

To get there, you want to do a search on multi-city flights which means you come home from a different destination than you flew to originally. I was coming from the Spokane area, so was a bit harder to get there.

Posted by
7283 posts

Maybe I should add this since you mentioned you’re new to this. This applies if you decide to purchase a route where you have two airline companies who aren’t associated with each other to reach Ljubljana. If your first flight is late and you miss the next flight, your second airline will not honor your ticket. For example:

Delta, KLM, Air France are partners - KLM will rebook a missed flight due to their partner if it’s all on one reservation.