Please sign in to post.

Smartphone in Europe

I don't own a cell phone or a smartphone as of now. But I will be traveling to London and around England later this year. I started looking for a smartphone and Verizon is offering a smartphone, Samsung for free with a $55.00 per month for the calling, data and internet. I explained I wanted to use it in England. The saleswoman advised that I buy a Sim card in London and showed me where I would put the card in the phone.

My question, will the Sim card work, where do I buy the Sim card in London, how much would the Sim card be. I will be gone for three weeks. I understand there may be different prices so what kind of card would I need to buy? What else do I need to know that I am not asking. As I am new to this I would really apprecaite your advice and help regarding a smartphone and the Sim card so I can use the phone for maps and calling home or within London.

I have an IPod touch and a MacBook Pro so I understand the computer and apps. I only need the smartphone for maps and calling. I have no need for music or texting or even the camera as I have a camera and I have the IPod touch which I will bring along too.

Thanks for your help. I need to get this phone on Friday as they are having a special for a limited amount of time.

Posted by
7453 posts

SIM cards are easy to get in England, if in London, just go to the nearest CarPhone Warehouse, they will have options, install the SIM for you, then verify that it works.

One word of caution though, I have an old unlocked cellphone from ATT, that worked great. In Germany though, my Son had his Verizon phone that was still under contract, but unlocked, my phone took a SIM just fine, his had problems, after an hour at a cell phone store, they finally figured out some configuration settings that needed to be made in the phone to acknowledge a non-Verizon SIM Card...so, when you get the phone, get specific settings instructions to get the new SIM card to work.