Please sign in to post.

FYI - US Website Access from Europe and 404 Forbidden

I may not be very well edutated or wealthy, but I am a registered professional in a state in the US. And to maintain my professional license I am required to do continuing education each year.

As usual I wait for the last possible week and then try and cram in 12 hours of education into a few days. Being in Europe this time I went to log into the continuing education provider website to begin my lessons and lo and behold "404 Forbidden" cause I am using a European internet service.

Holly sheep poop! I have two days to get this done! Sure I could install a VPN really quick .... if i knew how or could do anything quick.

Or I can simply sign out of the Wifi and set up my US phone as a Hot Spot and sign into that. My 12 hours now completed.

Any time you get the "Forbidden" unexpectedly it is possible that they have blocked non-US internet access. If you traveled with a US phone and an international Data Plan you are still okay. If you bought a European chip when you got here, well .................

My US phone also means I can watch US Netflix (which is only slightly different than European Netflix which I can watch from any internet source with my US account) and access some news content not available for download here.

Posted by
199 posts

I had a similar problem in the UK last week. Changed my VPN to Atlanta, problem solved

Posted by
15007 posts

Installing a VPN can be as easy as downloading an app.

I'm sitting at JFK airport in NY waiting for a flight. This website was not allowing me to post anything. I turned on my VPN and everything was fine.

Posted by
4080 posts

if i knew how or could do anything quick.

Apparently you can at least do 12 hours of continuing education quick…. 🤣

Posted by
2745 posts

You’d be amazed how fast I can do 40 hours of CPE. 😂

Posted by
17919 posts