Please sign in to post.

Charging iPhones and other devices

Do I understand correctly that iPhones are dual voltage and I can just plug them directly into the UK or EU outlet with the block charger that came with them and the correct plug adaptor?

If I purchase a dual voltage power strip that has USB ports, can I charge an external phone charger and my fit-bit without a voltage converter? I guess I'm asking: if the power strip accepts the UK higher voltage, does the USB port take care of supplying the correct (weaker?) charge to devices that can be charged via a USB connection? I see several on Amazon that have surge protection and overcharge protection and I intend to get a good one, not the cheapest available. Any advice on good brands would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me. I'm not a techie and I really don't want to fry my external charger or my fit-bit. OR blow the circuits in the hotel!

Posted by
5687 posts

Yes, I'm sure any new iPhone and device chargers are dual voltage now. That wouldn't have always been true a few years ago. All you need is a simple plug adapter.

Yes, you can charge your phone with a USB power strip, but know that it may not charge as fast as using the iPhone charger.

I usually take a couple of plug adapters as well as a "power block" thing that adds a few simple extra outlets on the end of the plug adapter. Some people take a cheap extension cord to achieve the same thing but make it easier to access hard-to-reach plugs in hotel rooms.

Posted by
1945 posts

Yes, all you need is an adaptor. I'm finding more and more hotels and airports worldwide that have USB port plugs so you don't have to use an adaptor. I've never had to worry about a surge protector but I haven't stayed in any really old hotels or hostels.

Posted by
6788 posts