Please sign in to post.

Personal Item?

I've been using the same bag as my personal item for nearly three years and it may be time to change. (I'm currently using a Tom Bihn Pilot). I'd like to hear what others are using especially if they meet my basic needs:

1) No bigger than 40 cm x 30 cm x 15 cm. (15.75" x 11.8" x 5.9")

2) MUST Have a trolley strap to fit over the telescoping handles of a wheelie bag.

3) Not too heavy (this is subjective).

4) Zippers are somewhat lockable.

There is no need to mention any Rick Steves bags as I am familiar with them.

Posted by
2267 posts

I love my Filson "Rugged Twill Tote w/ Zipper" and actually took it to a leather shop to have a trolly strap added.

I dodn't think it's heavy, but definitely not a lightweight option.

Posted by
8566 posts

TIMBUK2 Commute Messenger bag might be to your liking.

A friend swears by his Nomadic messenger bag. Not cheap.

Posted by
630 posts

Are you open to a backpack option - how about Tom Bihn’s Synik 22?

Posted by
19052 posts

The best bags aren't made anymore.

PS: any significance to the fact that your "No bigger than" dimensions exactly match the dimensions of a KLM "accessory"?

Posted by
14804 posts

My "no bigger than" dimensions are the IATA reccomended dimensions used by many European airlines.

The Tom Bihn Synik is high on my list.

Posted by
19052 posts

It looks like those IATA personal item dimensions are also good for British Air and Air France, but not for Lufthansa and Swiss, which limit the thickness of PIs to 10 cm.

Posted by
930 posts

I'm curious as to why you are giving up the Pilot? My husband uses the TB CoPilot. I'll be curious as to what you decide on - please let us know.

With so many bags out there, do you have any favorite brands? You could search your favorite brands and see what a particular company has available. Budget?