Please sign in to post.

Packing Cubes

Four weeks until our first trip to Italy. I'm trying to heed the advice from everyone on these forums and going with a 21" or 22" carry-on and packing cubes. I've never used them before and These came today.

I should have paid attention to the dimensions, as they are very large (14x11x3), And think they will be too big for my carry-on. Any advice on which size packing cubes I should use?

Posted by
5697 posts

I have used Eagle Creek half-cube sizes (10x7x3) for rolled t-shirts, quarter-cube for underwear/socks. Bought at REI when on sale. Two half cubes and a quarter cube fit in my 22" roller bag. Husband uses a quarter cube for electronics cords/chargers. We like them for organizing, ease of unpacking by just pulling out cubes. Yes, two half- cubes take the same space as one full cube but I feel I can pack around other items (shoes) easier with two smaller cubes.

Packing cubes are a weird little obsession I have. Knowing the interior dimensions of your bag helps. As a woman, I find that the ebags.com medium sized, classic cubes (Ebags brand) combined with slimline cubes (ebags brand) works well with carry on luggage. I also use eagle creek full tube cubes. Check out ebags.com classic cubes and eagle creek value set with the medium sized folder. The ebags medium cubes are great for shirts and pants that can be rolled. The slimline is good for socks, undies, bathing suit, travel brochures and knick-knacks. I like bright colors, easy to see and harder to leave behind.

Posted by
13809 posts

I use the Eagle Creek Specter compression cubes which are very light. Do you have an REI in your area? They usually have them in stock. I also see them at my AAA store. I recently purchased a 2nd set at a Sierra Trading Post store but I don't see the particular ones I got at their online site.

Here is a link to the ones I have found very helpful in 3 trips to Europe ranging from 5.5-8 weeks.