Please sign in to post.

Carry-on luggage

I've been using Rick's wheeled carry-on bag for about 10 years and it's been great! I'm in need of a replacement but the new ones he is selling are much smaller. Does anyone know of a company that sells a bag like his old one? I'd like one with 2 wheels and that is expandable. Thanks!

Posted by
797 posts

Before you buy, take a look at the carry-on size restrictions, they are not what they were 10 years ago. We flew Air France in and out of Paris last month and on the trip over nobody seemed to care about size or weight of carry-ons but on the return trip everything was size and weight checked at CDG long before we got to the gate. Some airlines are turning the least bit oversize or overweight carry-ons into cash cows.

Also Rick's posted sizes do not include the wheels regardless of what his staff claims. My 20 inch case is a bit over 21.

Posted by
24 posts

Joey,

I also measured my European sized RS roll-aboard and it was just barely over 21" long with wheels and handle included. And if I remember correctly my old RS roll-aboard was just over 23" in length with wheels and handle included.

Posted by
41 posts

Can anyone else chime in on how picky airlines are? We booked our trip to Italy via Delta, however, one leg of the trip we are on AirFrance and one Alitalia -- Alitalia has much lower weight limit than the other 2 carriers involved. Also, AirFrance size limit is smaller than Delta. Delta told me that their measurements are honored, but I don't buy it. Having trouble finding carry-on bags that fit the specs of all 3 airlines. Even Rick's carry-on that says it fits European carriers is too large per AirFrance standards.
Delta 22x14x9" - no weight restrictions
AirFrance 21x13x9" - 26lbs
Alitalia 55cmx35x25 (21.6x13.7x9.8") - 8kg/17.6lbs