Please sign in to post.

Camera suggestions

We are going on the Best of Europe 21 day tour from late July-early August. One of my questions is about cameras. I am an amateur photographer and want to get great pics without lugging around too much weight or bulk. Any suggestions? Also, is a long zoom a big plus on this type of trip?

Posted by
4535 posts

It really depends on what you want to get out of your photos. If you are looking for snapshots that represent what you saw and did and of yourself/companions, then a point-shoot pocket sized camera is more than adequate. Easy to carry and store; easy to get a quick shot. Good quality for generic images. My wife uses one and gets some great shots but her "range" is limited compared to my DSLR.

I see a lot of people just use their iPhone camera, which does ok. Very limited "range."

But if you really want great shots of the sites and details, with a quality of light, focus and depth of field, and able to play around with the results digitally, you'll want a DSLR with a good lens. For example, cathedral interiors can be captured really well with a DSLR but not the well with a point-shoot. Gargoyles on the exterior can be captured with a decent zoom lens. And you can shoot in RAW and play with the lighting and effects later.

For me, photography is important and so I carry a DSLR with a versatile 18-200 lens. Although I often shoot in auto mode for speed and convenience, I can shoot in RAW and get either wide shots or really good zooms and it does excellent in low lighting. For me, I don't mind carrying around the camera and with the single lens I don't have to change it all the time. But it can be bulky and awkward at times. When I am not using it for awhile, I stick it in my day bag.

Posted by
34 posts

I just picked up a Panasonic Lumix zs40, but haven't really tested it. Good pictures are essential since this is a once in a lifetime for our family. Thanks for the feedback. Much appreciated!

Posted by
32202 posts