To travel is to live.”
― Hans Christian Andersen, The Fairy Tale of My Life: An Autobiography

Posted by
10203 posts

I love that!!

I travel because I have to.

Posted by
833 posts

I've always had the travel bug. My parents worked in an internationally-focused field, studied abroad, took business trips abroad... It was genetically inherited, I guess. When I was in middle school they took us down to Tijuana and we walked across the border so I would stop complaining that I hadn't been out of the country yet. I love exploring, meeting new people. I've couchsurfed, hosted a couchsurfer in Italy. Seen the house that my great-great grandfather built, the same one my great-grandfather was born in in Tuscany. I love languages - I studied Spanish, Arabic and some Italian. I'm always counting down until my next trip. Luckily it's only 46 days away!

Love that HCA quote. I also like Tolkien - Not all those who wander are lost. If I get another tattoo, it may have to be that one.

Posted by
12172 posts

Even though I realize it's not possible, I travel because I want to see everything, experience everything (within moral limits) and know everything. The best I can do is keep chipping away at it by always going somewhere new and learning as much as I can. I'll kepp traveling until I'm physically unable to keep going.

Posted by
2081 posts

Since i was an art/architecture student, i spent alot of time reading Jensens book in addition to spending alot of time in a dark room looking a slides along with many other students.

Travel has allowed me to see the real things in the book and from the slides and i can say, its way better in person. The instructors always told us, if we ever have a chance to see any of them in person, to take the chance and do so. So i am.

I also want to travel for:

• seeing then odd/nifty things i cant see in the USA or isnt here.
  • try some different foods
  • chat with the locals
  • check out the babes