Trip Planning

Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum.
I have already planned a 23 day trip
from Rome to Amsterdam in March-
April 2017. I need help in planning
the following.Will be leaving Venice
on 2/4/17 to visit Vienna,Budapest and
Prague (total 6 days). I am not sure whether
to proceed to Budapest 1st or Vienna 1st.
Would Budapest-Vienna-Prague be better?
After that we are proceeding to Lucerne
by train at night. Appreciate replies.
Cornelius, Malaysia.

Posted by
32897 posts

Are you travelling on your own or in a group?

Posted by
4 posts

Sorry, are you talking about train from Venice to Budapest
or Vienna to Lucerne?thanks
To Lucerne via Zurich.

Posted by
2487 posts

Three major historical cities, packed with interesting sights and sites, in six days, including travelling time to and between them, leaving one and a half day per city? Skip one to do them right.

Posted by
18081 posts

It is a bit much for six days, but to answer the question;
On 2/4/17 I would fly Venice to Budapest. EasyJet, non-stop, one hour, $46+ per seat. It arrives at 10 am giving you the full day in Budapest.
Then on 2/7/17 I would take a morning train to Vienna; 2.5 hours direct. Something less than $30 a ticket
Then on 2/8/17 I would train a late afternoon train to Prague. Takes a bit more than 4 hours. Cost something less than $35 last time I looked.

Posted by
6113 posts

Your three options all have their merits, but personally, I would drop Vienna. I have just returned from 6 nights in Budapest, which was a good length of time to explore at a steady pace rather than haring around. The food, drink and transport was cheap and plentiful and the people were helpful.