Please sign in to post.

travel photography

hello all,

one big reason i travel is to indulge in my photography hobby. though i am a professional cinematographer and teach the subject, when it comes to stills i am purely a non-pro. i figured it might be interesting to start a thread to discuss our collective photography experience; tip & tricks, gear, perfect time and spots, and fun or not-so-fun photo-related stories. curious to find out if this subject will have any legs.

to start off my current camera is a sony a7iv and i have two lenses, a 12-24 gm and 24-70 gm. i am torn about buying the 70-200 gm. my bag is a diy 'converted' messenger bag with a wide zipped 'lid'. while great image quality is possible with a similar package the downside is weight. i got calluses on my shoulders from my summer trip which are just now fully faded! one thing i do in the 'tips and tricks' category is to go out very early in the morning so as to catch the low morning sunlight and shoot before people start to populate the 'frame'.

would love to hear your take!

Posted by
1184 posts

alomaker, you will find more photography discussions in the "Technology Tips" section. Anyways, here's my stuff.

c. 1995 - Canon Elan II film SLR, 50 mm, 28-105 mm, Speedlight flash, Manfroto tripod, plus Sony 8mm camcorder in two camera bags, plus a diaper bag all strung on back of an umbrella stroller with baby as a counterweight to keep the rig from flipping backwards. Printed thousands of photos. Only the first few years are organized in photo albums. The rest are still in the original photo finishing envelopes stacked in several kitchen drawers. I only shot videos during the toddler years. I converted all the videotapes to digital format before the old camcorder finally crapped out.