Please sign in to post.

Tap water

I am going to Paris, Beaune, Lauterbrunnen Valley, Venice, Tuscanny and Rome next spring. I dont want to buy water bottles daily and I generally drink a lot of water. Firstly, is tap water safe to drink in these areas, and have anyone used the Brita filtering water bottle? Something different? Thanks!!

Posted by
9369 posts

Tap water is just fine. I wouldn't bother taking a special bottle. Just buy one when you get there and reuse it when it's empty.

Posted by
301 posts

There are those who would advise against re-using thin plastic water bottles, but I'm no expert on it. Anyone else?

Posted by
32321 posts

Charity,

The water should be perfectly safe in all the places you mentioned (at least in my experience). I typically use the same water bottle for the entire trip, and just refill from the tap. If you ever go to Greece, in some places there buying bottled water is a good idea.

On the topic of "safety" of reusing the thin plastic water bottles, THIS is one opinion on the subject and THIS is another.

Happy travels!

Posted by
2081 posts

@ Dorothy,

There are those who would advise against re-using thin plastic water bottles, but I'm no expert on it. Anyone else?

from what i remember reading/see about things like this was that if used for extended periods (whats that?) then bacteria could grow in/around the mouth piece.

If i didnt have a bottle, i would refill it a few time and then toss and start over. To me id rather spend a few more bucks than get sick on a really expensive trip but thats just me and how i think.

of course your mileage may vary,

Happy trails.

Posted by
9369 posts