Please sign in to post.

Strasbourg, France to Lake Como in Summer 2023

My husband & I are just starting to form some ideas about an itinerary to cover some areas of France, Germany, Switzerland (mainly passing through Switzerland to get to Milan) and Lake Como. This will be our 3rd trip planning on our own since 2017. I was inclining toward doing a Rick Steves tour or one of the small boat cruises because of the amount of time I have spent in the past doing all of the research & planning as well as the fact that we will be 70 & 71 on the next trip, however, I think we have one more trip in us at least where we do it on our own. And there is a lot of fun in the planning. We enjoy walking all over wherever we are to just enjoy the general sights like architecture, parks/gardens/ cafes/ churches, ruins. We like day tours to see castles & countryside. We are not big museum/art people. I love music as I am a professional musician. One of my fondest memories is a concert in Mirabell Palace, touring Mozart's homes in Salzburg and Franz Liszt's home in Budapest.
This is a very rough sketch of what we have in mind:
Fly into Paris or Frankfort, then take train to Strasbourg. Stay in Strasbourg for 5-6 nights. Take day trips via train to Colmar, Baden Baden, & Heidelberg. Take one bus tour (Viator or similar) for the Alsace wine tasting & one or more castle tours in that area (Charteau du Haut-Koenigebourg).
Train from Strasbourg to Basel, then from there to Milan. I am not sure if we would spend a night in Basel, probably depends on the timing of everything. Then train from Basel to Milan to get to Lake Como where we want to spend at least 3 nights.

Transport back to Milan and fly out of Milan back to the US.

Any general advice is appreciated. A couple questions come to mind: