Please sign in to post.

Planning London and Paris October 2020

So I'm planning a trip to London and Paris for the first week of October 2020 and had a few questions. This is my first time to Europe and I will be solo. I have traveled internationally before(mostly in Asia) , but that was while I was in the Navy, so a totally different experience. I guess my main question is this. How far out should I start booking things like air and hotel to get the best rates. I've been researching sites that I want to visit and have an idea on getting tickets/passes for each, although any info would help. I will have 8 days( 4 in each city not including travel days). Basically, any hints and tidbits of info to get me started would be helpful.

Posted by
503 posts

Here are a few tips that have helped us when planning a trip:

Sign up for mailings from the various airlines that cover that route - British Airways, Air France, United, American and Delta - would be good choices and watch for sales. Sometimes, you can get great deals on flight/hotel packages via the airline although these are almost exclusively for round trip (i.e. in and out of the same city) flights. Although not an airline site, The Points Guy often posts about airfare sales as well - plus lots of information for using credit card points, etc., etc.
If time on the ground is more important than booking the best price - fly open jaw. It may cost you a bit more but will save you considerable time not having to backtrack. With travel, it's always a trade-off between time and money so you'll need to weigh which one works best for your travel goals.
Once you've got your flight nailed down, book your Eurostar tickets.
As for lodging, Priceline can be a good source as can booking directly with the hotel. If you have credit card points, investigate how you might leverage those points for hotel stays.

Some other random suggestions for your trip: