Please sign in to post.

One month in Europe:)

So I am planning a one month trip to Europe for this May/June with my grandma and I'm wondering if I could get some suggestions/critique of our itinerary. This is my first time to Europe and I'm a bit overwhelmed:)

Current Itinerary
Fly into Dublin (4 nights)
Edinburgh (3 nights)
London (6 nights) (with day trips to possibly Cambridge and Stonehenge)
Paris (4 nights)
Fussen, Salzburg or Munich (I can't decide which 4 nights)
Rothenburg ob der tauber (2 nights)
Copenhagen (4 nights)
Stockholm (3 nights)

I know this is a lot of places in a really short amount of time. Is it too much? Unfortunately staying for longer than a month isn't an option because of other commitments we both have.This will probably be my Grandma's last trip to Europe (due to age/money) and so we are trying to fit in all of the places that she would like to see. Also does $5000-$6000 each seem like a reasonable budget for this length of a trip? We are planning on staying in hostels/cheap hotels and taking the train in France/Germany and renting a car in Scotland and England. I'm open to any suggestions! Thank you so much!

Posted by
3391 posts

Just make sure you have planned travel time in between locations and are realistic about how long that will take each time you move to a new city. I think the amount of time you are spending in each place is reasonable!

I also notice that you are backtracking to get back up to Stockholm. I would suggest that you start in Dublin, as you have planned, but fly home from Munich at the end of your trip. That way you don't waste time and money getting back up to Scandinavia all the way from southern Germany. Seeing Copenhagen and Stockholm after you visit London might make more sense.