Please sign in to post.

Libraries to see on BOE 2016 tour?

Hello! I am an avid fan of libraries, and was wondering which ones would be a good choice to visit? My library science classmates are bound to be jealous! :-)

Posted by
33452 posts

Remind where the boe16 stops and I'll trawl my memory banks

Posted by
4046 posts

Same question as Nigel. What cities will you be visiting? There are 14 and 21 day tours.

As an interested librarian, I've been to several great libraries both large and small.

If London is on your list before or after the tour you can't miss the National Library.
I'd like to tell you about other favorites but let us know what cities are on your tour please.

Posted by
29 posts

We'll be on the 21 day tour. Amsterdam, Bacharach, Rothenburg, Reutte, Venice, Florence, Rome, Cinque Terre, Lauterbaunnen Valley, Beaune, and Paris. Forgive any misspellings! And thank you!

Posted by
4046 posts

Hmmm I may not be of much help. My experiences in Europe have been more in monastic, private, university and some national libraries. I love a good look at the pre Dewey classification systems.

The only libraries I have been to in your cities are the Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana in Florence where most people go to admire Michaelangelo's staircase and the Vatican library where you will see puti in every pose of reading on the ceiling if you slow down and look on your way to the Sistine Chapel. I walked by the French National Library last summer on a Sunday but it was closed.

Posted by
265 posts

There is a big and fairly new looking library in Amsterdam that is near the main train station. Also It is a great place for lunch with a great view.

Posted by
33452 posts

Shame you won't be stopping in Zug. I liked the little library there...

Posted by
14544 posts