Please sign in to post.

Itinerary suggestions

My husband and I are taking our first vacation to Europe for 14 days & 13 nights in mid April. We are flying in to London and out of Rome. I've got a lot of big cities on the itinerary already but we really aren't big city people. I work in the wine industry in the Napa Valley, so I wanted to do some wine tasting of course. We are planning on traveling by train with the exception of a flight from Bordeaux to Venice. We also like to hike. I plan on a few museums but we aren't big art people, but I want to at least hit the big ones. I would love suggestions on smaller towns along the train routes and the amount of days in each place. Thoughts on what I should skip.

Fly into London - 2 nights train to Paris
Paris - 2 nights then train to Bordeaux
Bordeaux (maybe St. Emilion) - 2 nights then fly to Venice
Venice for 2 nights then train to Florence (could this be a day trip instead?)
Florence for 2 nights
Tuscan Village or Villages of Cinque Terra 2 nights train to Rome
Rome 2 nights fly home

I know this is too tight, but I don't know what to drop. I realize this hopefully is our first trip to Europe, hopefully not our last, but we are not spring chickens so we want to stretch our comfort levels so we choose better on the second vacation to Europe Thanks!

Posted by
6788 posts

Yes, you are right, it is too tight. Consider this: "Some Place: 2 nights, then train to Another Place"

2 nights in Any Place = 1 day in That Place. So you get just 1 day in Paris, 1 in Bordeaux, 1 in Venice, 1 in Florence, 1 in Tuscany/CT, 1 in Rome... That's just brutal. At that pace, you're going to need to drink a lot of wine, and even if you don't drink any, you will wake up with a hangover as you drag yourself to the flight home.

Sorry...you need to cut half your locations to get in the ballpark, and even then, it's going to be a tough slog.