Please sign in to post.

Itinerary

Hey all,

I'm a student planning a first-time trip to Europe and I'd like your opinions on the itinerary. I've heard people on message boards just about everywhere getting reprimanded about not rushing through Europe, but I want to fit in a lot of things on this trip because I feel like I won't be returning for quite some time. Even in one of the Rick Steves' guide-books, he outlines ways you can see 3 or even 4 closely located cities in one sight-seeing day.

I am open to suggestions on places to cut and places to spend more time in.

Alright, here goes:

I'll be in Seville from mid-may until end of June and that's where I'll be starting.

1: Last Day in Seville [Night bus to Lisbon]

2: Morning Arrival in Lisbon

3: Lisbon, Night train to Madrid

4: Morning Arrival in Madrid

5: Madrid

6: Madrid, Afternoon Train to Barcelona

7: Barcelona

8: Morning train to Arles, Arrive in Arles around 4 PM

9: Morning train to Avignon, Excursion to Sault, Afternoon train to Nice

10: Nice, Eze, and Monaco, in the Morning, 2 PM train to La Spezia

11: Cinque Terre

12: Florence

13: Tuscany [Siena, Orvieto, Civita]

14: Rome

15: Rome

16: Rome

17: Venice

18: Train to Bern, Night in Bern

19: Interlaken

20: Interlaken in the Morning - Luzern at Night

21: Morning train to Munich

22: Munich

23: Munich, Afternoon train to Augsburg

24: Romantic Road [Augsburg --> Rothenburg --> Wurzburg]

25: Baden Baden

26: Day in Koln, Night in Amsterdam

27: Amsterdam

28: Amsterdam

29: Belgium [Day in Ghent, Night in Brussels]

30: Train to Reims, Day in Reims, Afternoon train to Paris

31: Paris

32: Paris

33: Paris

34: London

35: London

36: London

37: Afternoon Return flight to US

I'm planning on having a 1 month Rail pass. Also, how does $3k sound for all lodging [hostels], meals [2 a day, with snacks, seldom at restaurants], and various attractions [museums, etc]?

Thanks

Posted by
4555 posts