Please sign in to post.

Itinerary Advice: June - July 2024

Hello! I will be in Europe for five weeks in June and July this summer. I will be starting and ending in Paris. This is my first time planning a trip of this magnitude, and my only experience in Europe to date is a week-long trip through England. I'm interested in visiting museums, seeing cities of cultural relevance, and taking in natural beauty. Culture, beauty, and good (it need not be fancy) food are important to me. I will be taking public transport, so I won't have access to a car for day-trips. I've been recommended Nice, Florence, Venice, Rome, Sorrento, Athens, Bern, Geneva, Frankfurt, Amsterdam, and London by a friend who went on a backpacking trip last summer. I'm not sure I want to visit so many destinations, so any additional advice on standouts would be appreciated. I'm planning on concentrating the first 1/2 to 2/3rds of my trip in Southern Europe, then traveling to Amsterdam and London before my return to Paris. Also, If you have advice about keeping hotel costs down without resorting to hostels all the time, please share.

Posted by
4759 posts

Paris is hosting the Olympics this summer, have you researched available accommodations, costs, and related disruptions? I'd drop Paris. Also, Sorrento will be hot and crowded , not to mention expensive. Also, Switzerland is very expensive.
What are your interests, not your friend's? Get some guide books, do some research, watch u- tube videos, join Facebook groups for areas of interest. Decide on your priorities, we can't do this for you.
You have chosen mostly large cities in the heat of summer. Don't you want to experience some smaller towns? And after awhile, you'll need to slow down, do laundry, nurse a cold, and relax.
Draft a reasonable itinerary based on your interests, and come back here with more specific questions.
I wish you memorable adventure and a remarkable summer. Safe travels!

Posted by
7680 posts