Please sign in to post.

Italy, Austria, Germany help

My husband and I are planning out our trip to Europe May 9-June 14, 2017. We have the first part of the trip set but now I am trying to figure out from Florence up to Austria. We want to go to Vienna, Salzburg, Munich, Baden-Baden and then Basel Switzerland. Would it be good use of our time and money to go from Florence to Innsbruck to Munich to Salzburg to Vienna all of trains and then fly from Vienna to Stuttgart? We leave Florence May 20th and I want to be in Buix Switzerland June 1st. Thank you for all suggestions. This was much easier in 1978. Back then you bought a eurail pass and a hostel membership and just hit the road and no advance planning but when you are 21 it is so easy.

Posted by
8068 posts

I lived in Augsburg, Germany from 87-91 and have travelled in Europe extensively, including all the places you mentioned. However, I have little knowledge of what is available on inexpensive flights within Europe.

I can say that you could do all this travel by rail.

From Florence you could go through Innsbruck, then to Vienna, then Salzburg, Munich, Baden-Baden and Basel.

I remember taking a wonderful and scenic train from Augsburg to the Black Forrest by rail (without going through Stuttgart). Also, you may be able to go from Venice, if you like through Slovenia to Vienna. We did it by car, but there may be a rail route as well.

If you need to fly out of Vienna, instead of taking the train, why now just fly into Basel.

Posted by
59 posts

You can fly from Vienna to Stuttgart for $44. pp. I want to see that part of Germany especially Baden- Baden. When I search for trains from Florence to Vienna, it is an overnight train and we do not want to do that. When I was doing all the searches it just didn't seem to make sense to not do an Innsbruck-Munich-Salzburg-Vienna route but then I didn't know what to do so I searched for airfare.

Posted by
59 posts