Please sign in to post.

iPod Touch

Has anyone used the wifi feature around Europe? I'm purchasing the Touch anyway, but I wanted to see if the WiFi actually works.

Posted by
6898 posts

I'm not sure about Europe yet but my niece was surprised when she could access the internet in her brother's house (he has a wireless router). I just bought my wife one for Christmas. We're looking forward to that feature as well.

Posted by
32219 posts

Michelle, I haven't used the IPod Touch Wi-Fi in Europe, but have been trying it wherever I can find coverage in my home area. It seems to work surprisingly well, however I'm still learning how to use it (unfortunate that an Owner's manual isn't provided with the Touch - I had to access the online manual but haven't got around to printing it yet).

Operating with a such a small screen definitely takes some practise, as does typing on the very small keyboard (I have somewhat "large" fingers so this is a bit of a problem). The scrolling function and enlarging the pages works well. There are very few Wi-Fi Hotspots in my area, so I have only tried this a couple of times. The Safari Browser seems to do a good job of presenting web pages just as they would be on a regular PC, and the speed seems quite acceptable.

Hope this helps. Happy travels!

Posted by
1883 posts

Michelle, before you use your Iphone in Europe, call AT&T to find out about charges. I disabled my wireless before travel...the cost is prohibitive overseas. It's not FREE...especially if there is no free wifi, and you end up using the EDGE network.

Early users of Iphone came home from overseas trips with bills in the $100's, just because they had the wifi on all the time. Apple offered a new download that now allows users to turn off this feature.

Talk to someone at Apple or to Apple through AT&T to make sure you understand how this phone system works outside the US- BEFORE you travel!