Please sign in to post.

"Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945" by Tony Judt

I have been re-reading "Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945" by Tony Judt.
Wonder if any of you have and what you thought of it?
I read it when it was first published in 2005, and am re-reading it now for an upcoming Europe trip.
Interesting book--reminds you of the utter devastation of Europe, on every level. And some good things that America, Canada, and the UK did to try and help the people of Continental Europe.
I feel the book helps me to understand what I'm seeing on the ground 70 years later.
And why the European Community/Union was, perhaps, the last best hope for Europe.

I realize this topic is a bit of a break from the usual here. I've noticed there are some out there who are interested in these topics.
This book is a history, not a historical novel--so it's not everyone's cup of tea.

I think of this topic as part of the on-going discussion that occasionally pops up here: trying to better understand some of the differences between here and Europe.

Posted by
12040 posts

Yes, I read it and it was one of the best non-fiction books I've ever encountered. I didn't realize prior just how closely Europe teetered on complete collapse immediately after WWII. I now can truly appreciate that the last 70 years was one of the most truly revolutionary eras in European history. All the more remarkable that this revolutionary transformation of society was mostly peaceful... even though it was preceded by two of the most destructive wars in human history.

If you really want to understand the Europe of today, forget about what Mr. Steves says about visiting art galleries. Read this book instead.

Posted by
1307 posts

Thanks for the recommendation, Kent. I just put a "hold "on it at the library. (it's likely right up my alley, as it were.)

Posted by
2030 posts

Thanks for the info, Kent. I'm a history buff, who goes to Europe a lot, and this book sounds very interesting to me.