Please sign in to post.

Help with itinerary for September 2022

I've been an avid reader of this forum for several years and have received much needed advice but this is my first time posting. I am trying to plan a trip to Europe in September of this year for my husband and myself. We were in Europe 2019 and visited Prague, Budapest, Salzburg, Vienna and Munich. Our scheduled return was cancelled due to covid in 2020 and 2021. We are so ready to head back! Here are a few of my questions? Where to go? With all the Covid rules/regulations changing on a daily basis, I'm thinking one country, perhaps two, may be the easiest (or not, who knows)?! We are vaccinated and boosted and actually as of right now, both of us are recovering from our break through case. We will have a little over 2 weeks for the trip. I was thinking Ireland or Scotland? Italy? We like to immerse ourselves in the culture, eat great food, walk the towns, day trips on the train, visit museums etc. We also like staying in small boutique hotels. My husband is really into WW2......
We had planned to go to Amsterdam, Bruges, Paris. Thankfully, everything I had booked was refundable. I know this is vague and generalized but any ideas appreciated! I know most on this forum have traveled much more so looking forward to your opinions.

Posted by
6113 posts

The boosters will probably need boosting again by September! I would stick to one country to make keeping on top of Covid regulations easier.

The weather should be ok in September for all your options and all will offer you some of your interests, although there will be less WW2 stuff in Ireland. Orkney has an interesting WW2 history and is a stunning place to visit if you opted for Scotland. Two weeks or so could cover Edinburgh, Stirling, Falkirk, Orkney and Inverness.

Posted by
49 posts

Thank you Jennifer. You are so right about the booster! I will explore the places you mentioned in Scotland.

Posted by
3904 posts