Please sign in to post.

Garmin Nuvi 275T or not?

My husband and I will be renting a car for 3 days in France and 3 days in Italy in June/July. Have been looking to purchase a Garmin Nuvi 275T gps because it has both N America and Europe loaded. Reasonable price on Amazon, but looking for feedback from users. Thanks for any and all comments.

Posted by
629 posts

We took our Garmin to GB in 2011 & to Spain in 2010. The extra cost for a GPS was quoted at 18E per day! That is a lot of extra money for even a 1 week trip. My friend arrived at the car rental agency in London and was told that they were all out of GPSs (although he had pre-booked one). Also, I pre-load addresses to key locations while still at home. When you are travelling, hit your favourites and up comes the info - very handy. Enjoy your trip!

Posted by
33150 posts

I have been using Garmin sat nav technology for about 12 years, maybe more. I've always been happy with them, but technology does move on and the 275 was one of the first generations of the nuvi lines so it is some years old. If you do get it make sure you upgrade the maps and points of interests. The basic roads won't have changed but there will have been changes. Many of the POIs will have changed. The voice has been improved. If that is all ok with you and the price is right consider it. Get familiar with the operation before you travel, and get your waypoints and favourites in before you travel.

Posted by
12172 posts