Please sign in to post.

First trip to Europe Itinerary help...Sept 2013

I will be going to Europe for a wedding in Dublin and since it is my first time going we will be extending our stay to visit other areas. This is what I was thinking....any thoughts or suggestions are welcome! Sept 15: travel 16th: Dublin 17th: Dublin side trip? 18th: Dublin (wedding) 19th: Fly to London (airline suggestion?) 20th: London 21st: London 22nd: Paris 23rd: Paris 24th: Paris 25th: Switzerland(still trying to decide where) 26th: Switzerland 27th: Venice 28th: Venice 29th: Rome 30th: Rome 1st: Rome (fly back to Dublin in evening) 2nd: fly home
Would you suggest I switch Rome and Venice? Also, I am looking at hopefully switching our flight to open-jaw, but that is the only thing that is booked so far. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Posted by
23548 posts

Absolutely switch to open jaw and come home from Rome. Save a lot of money and full day of travel. Personally I don't like two night stands because it is really only a day at that location. I would drop the Dublin side trip because of the activities associated with the wedding. You are doing a lot of traveling with long distances. Save Switzerland for the next trip.

Posted by
10545 posts

I agree with Frank. Drop Switzerland and add it to Venice and Rome. Don't underestimate the time it takes to travel between your destinations. If a train takes 4 hours, it is actually much longer when you factor in getting to and from the station, finding your train, etc.

Posted by
4132 posts

Looks like one day, two nights, in Switzerland. So you spend all day getting to, say, the Lauterbrunen Valley from Paris, and on your one day it rains. Bummer, and next day you are off to Venice, another all-day trip. Two days much much better, or save it for another time.

Posted by
1825 posts