Please sign in to post.

Euro Trip 2016 -- 10 weeks' itinerary. Thoughts, suggestions, please?

EUROPE ROAD TRIP 2016

Thoughts, feedback, suggestions, please???

GOALS:
-- cultural/historic sites – museums, palaces/castles/cathedrals/architecture, classical music-related sights.
-- stay/eat economically, the local way.
-- basic accommodation needed, bed and shower.
I'm a safe and efficient driver, good planner, light packer.
-- when traveling, I'm usually out and about from 7am, due to curiosity and excitement, hence this itinerary, where 2-3 minor places can be seen in one day quite easily, especially given distances and mostly excellent infrastructure in Europe.
I've done Euro car trips before, but of lesser scope and duration.
Tentative dates: June 10 – August 19, 2016

Fly to FRA, rent economy car, then...

WEEK 1:
GERMANY
Frankfurt 1 day, Mannheim, Heidelberg, Stuttgart (Porsche Museum), Hohenzollern Castle (72379 Bisingen)
FRANCE
Strasbourg, Colmar, Freiburg (DE)

WEEK 2:
SWITZERLAND
Basel, Zurich, Lucerne, Interlaken, Bern, Lausanne, Geneva, Chamonix
ITALY
Aosta, Ivrea, Milano, Como, Lugano
LICHTENSTEIN ?
GERMANY
Neuschwanstein Castle (Schwangau)

WEEK 3:
AUSTRIA
Innsbruck, Salzburg 1 day, Linz, Vienna 2 days, Eisenstadt
SLOVAKIA
Bratislava
HUNGARY
Budapest 1 day, then E77 north thru SLOVAKIA to Kraków (PO)
POLAND
Kraków 1 day, Auschwitz (Oswiecim), Wrocław (if time)

WEEK 4:
CZECH REPUBLIC
Ostrava, Olomouc, Brno, Prague 1 day, Pilsen
GERMANY
Dresden 1 day, Berlin 3 days

WEEK 5-6-7:
GERMANY
Köthen, Halle, Leipzig, Weimar, Jena, Bayreuth, Bamberg, Nüremberg, München
Innsbruck (AU)
ITALY stay in agroturismos/monasteries whenever possible