Please sign in to post.

Chip and Signature

I have a Capital One credit card and it is only a chip and signature card. The customer service person told me do not use the PIN. It'sl only for cash advances. Will restaurants take a chip and signature card in 2022? All of the advice on here is older.

Posted by
2352 posts

A lot of people have been reporting that a card with 'tap' capability is the most common now. Do you know if your card has that?

Posted by
8375 posts

You can tell if a card is “tap” because it will have a symbol on it. I’m not good at describing it, but if you Google “ contactless card symbol”. You will see what it looks like. My card never needed a pin or a signature when I tapped it.

Posted by
7360 posts

Trip in the past month and a half: London - we did a contactless “tap” purchase everywhere with our Chase VISA card, except one place, where they had us sign. I think it depends on the card reader device the merchant is using, and maybe their card banking system, too.

Then in southern Africa, it was either tap or sign, mostly the latter. Never used a P.I.N., anywhere.

Posted by
2267 posts

The symbol Carol mentions is like a sideways WiFi symbol. It's really common now—even my 10-branch local bank in a rural area has it on their debit cards. And you can use it at most shops here at home to get familiar using it.

'Chip and Signature' cards will still work without tap, and confuse cashiers and waiters who will have to go find a pen. In fact, contactless payment has transaction limits, and exceding them will require use as chip&sig (varies by country and card type—mostly 50-100 euros).

Posted by
14507 posts

I used a Capital One credit card in Paris restaurants. Why wouldn't the chip and signature credit card not be accepted? I never had any problems in Paris, be in the hotel or restaurants. No PIN was asked for.