Please sign in to post.

cell phones

My daughter and her friends (18 year olds) are traveling to Spain and Italy this summer. They are used to having their cell phones, but we would prefer to avoid the expense. I see from previous messages that calling cards will be adequate for calling home. I just wonder if sending all these young women without a way for them to easily find each other will be a mistake. Any thoughts?

Posted by
9369 posts

As a college student, I lived for a time in Salzburg, Austria. This was in the Dark Ages, before cell phones. There were 40 of us on our trip, and we traveled independently in small and large groups every weekend (and sometimes during the week). No one got lost, and if we got separated for a time, we just returned to the hotel or hostel. Calling cards ARE adequate for calling home. People traveled just fine in the years before cell phones, and I'm sure your daughter and her friends will be OK without them, too.

Posted by
486 posts

Get cell phones. Using unlocked phones with pre-paid Italian and Spanish SIMS is a relatively inexpensive safety and security measure. With everyone in Europe using cell phones, the decrease in working public phones is happening as it is happening here.

For preplanned home-calling, Skype on their own computer where internet is free gives you the best price. Second best is pre-paid cards. But for safety and security especially if they get separated from each other or need to call home NOW, have them get cell phones. Best bet is used unlocked phones bought here or new ones bought there and local (Italian/Spanish) SIMs which give them a local number and free incoming calls.

If you have Skype or a way to call them free, then they an call you - you call back - and their airtime except for the minute to call you - is entirely free for them and cheap for you.

You can PM me for more info.

Posted by
1152 posts