Please sign in to post.

Another $680 Question

As stated in my earlier topic the $680 is the lowest rate r/t to Europe I have seen in a long time. I know I can't go back until next spring but what if I had booked that fare for as far out as the site would let me. Then later change the date to May when I could go. I believe I have a year to use it and probably would have to pay a change fee of $100 or $200 which is still much cheaper that the $1100 which was the normal fee. Also, would the ticket have to be used within a year of purchase date or a year from the original scheduled flight date?
I have never done that before so just wanted some others thoughts on doing something like that.
Not trying to sound cheap hear, but I have been saving for another trip for about 18 months. Was going last year until I got sick and now medical bills take a lot of what I try to save for the trip. So, just trying to figure out any savings when I see a price like $680. If I don't go in 2017, probably will never get to go back.

Posted by
7052 posts

Unfortunately, this seems like a moot point now since the sale has passed. There will be other sales - there are flash sales every year (usually 3 day sales to drum up demand and make folks act fast). I would not obsess over this. I know, it's tempting to think it will never happen again...but it will happen again if you're patient and on the lookout. With change fees (they are at least $200 now, not $100), you'd save about $200 - let's say $300 to be overly generous. There are more ways than one to cut $300 out of your budget annually - flight fares are only one possible way. There are many others. Time to get creative and identify all the ways you can to save that same amount over a year. Why buy something relatively expensive, even at a discount, that you know already doesn't meet your needs due to timing issues? That doesn't seem rational to me.

Posted by
1923 posts