Please sign in to post.

A Year in Europe

Hello! I just got accepted into the Irish World Academy of Music and Dance at the University of Limerick to work on an MA in Ethnomusicology (the study of folk music). I've played the travel game before. Last summer I backpacked through Europe for 9 weeks, and a few summers ago I studied abroad at Cambridge University. Now, this is different - I'm in it for the long haul. I am excited but nervous. Do you have any tips for transitioning abroad? What books do you suggest I read before I go? What should I pack? How much money should I bring (besides for school and housing)? And so on. Has anybody spent a year abroad and have stories to share? Thanks for your help!

Posted by
517 posts