Please sign in to post.

Opinions on my itinerary please!

After much planning, I think I have finalized my itinerary for my June-July trip - it is my first time in Europe, and I am going by myself for the first three weeks, and then meeting a friend in Rome for the last two weeks. I am a student (I'm 22), so my trip is budget, and I am staying in hostels and eating mostly from grocery stores, etc. Any tips would be appreciated!

Arrive London (Gatwick) June 15, stay in London 8 nights, with day trips to Windsor, Stonehenge, maybe Bath.

June 23 - travel to Paris, stay 5 nights, with day trip to Versailles.

June 28 - travel to Marseilles, stay 4 nights, with day trips to Avignon and maybe Aix-en-Provence.

July 2 - Travel to Cinque Terre, stay 4 nights. This is my "vacation from my vacation", before plunging into Italy for 2 weeks.

July 6 - Travel to Rome, meet my friend, stay 4 nights.

July 10 - Travel to Naples, stay 2 nights, with day trip to Pompeii.

July 12 - Travel to Florence, stay 4 nights, with day trip to Siena.

July 16 - Travel to Venice, stay 2 nights.

July 18 - Fly to London, stay 1 night.

July 19 - Fly home. We could not get a connecting flight from Venice on the 19th, which is why we are flying to London the day before.

Our flights are already booked, so our dates are final, but I could change that number of nights that I am in each destination.

Thanks for your help!

Posted by
12040 posts

Sounds like a fun trip with a reasonable itinerary. Although you'll surely hear a lot of "Go hear, don't go there", ultimately, its your money, so see what you want to see.

I've also heard people describe Naples as a "dump"... which given their current trash problem, is a bit ironic.

Posted by
81 posts

For the big cities here is my opinion

London - need only 3 days in the city
Paris - 2 1/2-3 days in the city
Rome - I only needed 2 days - I preferred the smaller Italian towns more