Please sign in to post.

Traveling with 85 yr old mom

My mom wants to take one last trip to Rome, Assisi, medjugorje, Venice and Padua. Most of it will be in a wheelchair. She is 85. Not in great shape. We will be traveling with a group via bus. But how is accessibility? Am I crazy to take her?

Posted by
361 posts

Hi Sara, I have no personal experience to offer you but there is an Accessible Europe section in the RS Plan Your Trip page. Seems to have website's and good suggestions for wheelchair trips, guides and locations. It may help you answer some of your questions. Good luck with your trip planning. Sherry

Posted by
9363 posts

You might also look at www.travelinwheels.com for good information about accessible travel. Not sure if there is anything specific to the area where you will be traveling, but you might look.

Posted by
11507 posts

Sara,, I do not think it is crazy at all to make your mother happy,, bluntly, she will not be with you forever , I know , I lost my mother 6 years ago,, and wish I had been able to travel with her.. What I do really question is the going on a group tour,, unless this tour is the type that is really willing to cater to an older less mobile customer base. Frankly, you will be holding the group up a bit, and worse, it will be harder on you and your mom when you need to move based on someone elses timeline. Is there anyway you could NOT go with a group. Rent a car, just go at your own pace, if mom is tired or having a bad day you could rest at hotel etc..
I would also in that case perhaps try and pare down list. Venice is hard with a wheelchair, really hard, alot of those arched bridges you see over the canals are stepped, not ramped. I guess you could visit Venice for the day, take water taxi to St Marcs square,, look around a bit, but longer stay would mean alot of pushing for you, and alot of dead ends( where you encounter steps) .

Posted by
10192 posts