Please sign in to post.

6-week Solo trip to Europe May/June 2015

Dear forumers,

I'm embarking a 6-week solo tour around Europe in May-June 2015 with 8 days in Turkey. Would appreciate it very much if you guys have any suggestions or advices on my itinerary since it's my first time stepping foot on this continent!

2-9/5 Turkey
Day 1: Arrival at Ataturk airport- flight to Kayseri
Day 2-3: Explore Cappadocia/Goreme (hot air balloon tour! Can't wait!)
Day 4-7: Explore Istanbul new and old town (any suggestion on off-the-beaten-path places in Istanbul?)

9-14/5 Greece
Day 1 Explore Athens (or maybe Sounion)
Day 2-3Taking a tour to Delphi and Meteora
Day 4 Continue to explore Athens
Day 5-6 Explore Santorini

14-22/5 Italy
Day 1-3 Explore Rome and Vatican
Day 4-5 Explore Florence
Day 6 Taking a day tour to Pisa and Cinque Terre
Day 7-8 Explore Venice

22-24/5 Switzerland
Day 1-2 Explore Lucerne and taking the Golden round trip tour

24-29/5 Austria
Day 1-2 Explore Salzburg
Day 3 Day trip to Hallstatt
Day 4-6 Explore Vienna

30/5-1/6 Hungary
Day 1-3 Explore Budapest

1-4/6 Czech Republic
Day 1-3 Explore Prague

4-9/6 UK
Day 1-5 London (+ Oxford)

9-15/6 France
Day 1-6 France (+ Versailles and Loire Valley)

Any comments are most welcomed and thank you all in advanced for reading this post! :)

Posted by
134 posts

Switzerland: I would add Lugano 1/2 day to visit the centre of this small city and 1/2 day to visit the lake.
I would also add Geneva (1-2 days) and Bern 1/2 -1 day.

Italy
Florence diserves at least 4 days.
In the same area, there is also Sienna and San Gimignano which each diserves at least 1 day. Should you like the sea, I advise you isola d'Elba and other Tuscany islands (3days). Should you need a bed and breakfast in Florence, let me know, I have a friend who has one. In Rome I also know of one lovely bed and breakfast near the Vatican.
Rome diserves 4-5 days (Europe's largest historical city centre -6 miles wide, so be prepared to use your shoes)