Please sign in to post.
Posted by
872 posts

I would have to respectfully disagree that the myth is busted. I don't think it's a matter of what you wear, but how you wear it. Yes, jeans and sneakers were plentiful, but they were of the fashionable kind. There is a difference. My husband and I wore jeans and sneakers while in Paris and were mistaken for Parisian on two occasions. When I was in southern Italy, I could not believe how fantastic the high schoolers looked compared to how our students come to school (I work in a school). Again, I’m sure this is a topic that will be civilly debated for many more years to come.

Posted by
9363 posts

"Yes, jeans and sneakers were plentiful, but they were of the fashionable kind."

Therein lies the debate. What is fashionable among US teens is not the same as what is fashionable among European ones. It doesn't make one better than the other. It's simply personal choice.

I tend to agree with Jo - the idea that only Americans wear white tennis shes, or that you'll be instantly identified as a foreigner if you don't wear black in Paris is simply not true.

Posted by
5678 posts

Hey if you don't wear black in New York City, you'll be labeled an out-of-towner for sure. ; ) Since I've been traveling to NYC for business my wardrobe of black tops, black slacks, black skirts, black coats, black pashmina, black shoes, black socks, black gloves, black hats, even black underwear has multiplied fantastically. I wear lovely green Haflinger house shoes at home in sheer rebellion. ; ) Pam

Posted by
2030 posts