Please sign in to post.

Europe in July

Hello! My fiance and I are in the planning process for our honeymoon. We plan to travel in July for two weeks. Yes, short we know, however, our funds are limited. I am a teacher and he is an office manager of sorts. We are footing the entire bill for our wedding and honeymoon, so we are somewhat limited, but would like to fit as much as we can in our trip since this may not happen again for a very long time if at all.
We have researched some of the blogs and postings on this site as well as others. We were looking for more ideas and "hot-spots" to hit as well as advice for travel/debit card usage in Europe. We are wanting to focus on Italy, France, and Spain with hopes of making it to Greece. We have a very small budget, but we are looking forward to this trip. We are hopeless romantics (ugh I know) and we enjoy scenery/architecture-much like that found in Charleston, SC. We are also beach bums at heart. Hopefully we will get a lot of site seeing in for little money while there. We love picture taking too. We would like to experience as much as possible in such short time. Any suggestions?

Posted by
28 posts

Before we get into details, could I suggest limiting your time to one, or at the most, two of those four countries? If you try doing anymore, travel will eat up most of your two weeks - or most of your money if you fly in and out of each country.

Maybe start by making a list of everything you know about each country that you'd like to see including your ideal temperature and cuisine, and compare those to pick your country?

To get you started:

Italy - Rome, Vatican, Venice, Florence, Cinque Terre, etc.
Rome Average Daily High = 87

Spain - Barcelona, Alhambra, Escoriale, Toldeo, etc. (I know the least about Spain)
Madrid Average Daily High = 87

France - Paris, Versailles, Eiffel Tower, Louvre, French Riviera
Paris Average Daly High = 76

Greece - Athens, Parthenon, Delphi, Meteora, Corinth, Olympia, Aegean islands