Please sign in to post.

3 weeks in Europe

My husband and I are planning our second trip to Europe to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary and my 60th.We have 3 must see's, Paris, Normandy and any part of Germany besides the Black Forest! We have not ruled out Amsterdam and or flying into or out of London and the chunnel to Paris. We are both physically fit, my hubby reads maps for fun, can manage a little German and we have friends near Frankfort we hope to meet up with. We loved traveling by train last time but wonder if we should rent a car for part of the trip. I am an avid cook and we are wine drinkers. My husband is a history buff, I am not but enjoy historical sites. Any suggestions would be of great help! ps We are shooting for next Sept. 2013

Posted by
10226 posts

First, congrats on the anniversary and big birthday! Will your friends meet you somewhere, or do you have to go to Frankfurt to see them? Three weeks will go fast. I'm planning a trip for the same time and it's amazing how fast those days fill up. For transportation I think a car during the Normandy portion of your trip would give you the most freedom there. A couple of suggestions off the top of my head to think of would be - Paris - Normandy - Burgundy - Rhine or Mosel (or both) River regions Paris - Normandy - Bruges - Amsterdam - Rhine/Mosel With Burgundy you get food and wine, and with the Rhine you get the wine.
With both of these options you could fly into Paris and out of Frankfurt. Or do the reverse. You have plenty of time to figure this out and for me anyway, the planning is half the fun!!

Posted by
3 posts

Thanks, Andrea! Great suggestions! Our friends will meet us anywhere and would like to spend a couple days with us. They have a 3 year old, however! Funny enough, we met her drinking kirshwasser in the Black Forest, 10 years ago!

Posted by
192 posts