Please sign in to post.

Moulin Rouge in Paris

I bought Rick's book on Paris, and while I don't think he says it outsight (am 3/4 through the book) I read hints that it is a lot of money and probably not worth it (cheapest price for dinner and show is currently $208.80). I went to chicago to see the Toulouse Lautrek exhibit and thought it would be fun to go to the Moulin Rouge show. Any advise from folks who have been there? Thank you!

Posted by
69 posts

I went last year. I wouldn't go again though. It is pretty uninteresting. I am glad I went though. I am a costume designer so seeing the costumes (or lack of costumes at times) was very interesting. Otherwise, just go look at the outside of the building.

Posted by
283 posts

I have a skewed take on this question.

We were in Paris two years ago with our very dear friends, who do not travel much at all. The ONE thing they really wanted to see was Moulin Rouge. It was the highlight of their trip. They bought tickets through the hotel, which I would guess were very expensive, and then a cab to and from the event. I am sure it cost well over $208 per person. The wine flowed freely, the food was mediocre, but they had a blast.

My take: if you want to spend that kind of money, eat somewhere good and high end. Moulin Rouge is a tourist trap. Everyone one at the show was a tourist, many from Japan, but lots of foreign tour groups were there from Germany, etc.

Posted by
875 posts

Yes,it is an expensive tourist trap, but a very fun and entertaining one. I had to be dragged kicking & screaming to the show this spring, but loved every minute of it (except for paying for it) and was so glad that I went. We also had dinner there which was nothing special, but we so enjoyed talking to our tablemates who were from Scotland. It was all-in-all a great evening. If you can afford it, I would recommend going.

Be sure to go the Musee d'Orsay to see some more of Toulouse-Latrec's works.

Posted by
11507 posts