Please sign in to post.

2-Week Europe trip in March, 2011

Hey y'all.
I have a few questions regarding a post-deployment trip I'm working on for next spring with my wife and step-daughter. It's meant to be a "taste of Europe tour," so we're not going to be spending a great deal of time in any one location outside of London. I have a few questions:
1. Obviously, we're going to Europe at a time when the tourists are few and the prices are a bit cheaper. However, the concern (especially in the Alps portion and Budapest/Prague) is the weather. Am I kidding myself out of a view of the Matterhorn or of the Jungfrau region in Gimmelwald? Are Budapest and Prague, being mid-continent type climate, insanely cold at this time of the year?
2. I'm planning on renting a car in Milan for the Alps/Lake Como portion of the trip. Since I've had very little experience driving a manual transmission, I'm getting an automatic. For those of you having driving experience in the Alps with automatic transmission: how was it? Any difference compared to driving in the Rockies?

Thanks in advance.

Posted by
136 posts

I don't know how difficult it will be to get an automatic. Have you considered a few lessons on a manual? I hadn't driven one in a number of years when I rented my six speed VW in Zurich. It took me some false starts (stalling it) to get out of the parking garage, but fine after that.

We did visit the Matterhorn (summertime) en route to Pisa and Rome (been to a lot of the rest of Italy by train). I drove into Pisa, but cheated and dropped the car at the Rome airport and got transport into the city.

The Matterhorn was nice, but if your time is tight, getting to it is off the beaten path and still requires parking the car and taking a train to the auto free town. The Alps driving was not real different from any mountains including the Rockies. Probably easier than Pike's Peak.

Posted by
9110 posts

General scoop and rough info: