Please sign in to post.

Opera

My friend and I are wanting to go to an opera while touring Italy next month. Any suggestions on where we should go to see one?

Posted by
2207 posts

Been to La Scala in Milan and it's truly worth the experience... Also many operas available in Rome at multiple venues! In Lucca they have the Puccini festival during the summer! And Verona is a favorite of my wife's - We're making our plans to spemd a weekend there and catch an opera!

Sometimes in Piazza Navona we're treated to Arias from a few "independent contractors" - saw one today... and he was pretty good!

Ciao,
Ron

Posted by
582 posts

As a professional musician, I can tell you Milan Italy is wonderful to see an opera! The down side, it's very hard to get tickets, and you need to book tickets in about one year in advance. But you should still try to get the tickets for next month. You never know unless you try!! Also Vienna Austria, but again you need to book in advance. (oh, you asked about Italy, but perhaps Vienna on another trip.)
So wonderful you have this interest and want to hear the best!
Have fun in Italy! I'm going to be in Milan and Venice this fall!

Posted by
12172 posts

Milan is the obvious choice.

Another great choice is the Roman ampitheater in Verona. I've been there but it was after opera season. It's now on my to-do list.

Posted by
12040 posts

I've never traveled to Italy, but I've seen opera throughout the rest of Europe. In my experience, even for the top opera companies (Mariinski, Vienna, Berlin, Paris Grand, etc) you can purchase seats from ticket agents, much like for musicals in New York or London. See if a ticket agent can help you get seats for La Scala in Milan.

Posted by
632 posts