Please sign in to post.

Travelers Cheques??

I read in Rick Steve's book that many small hotels or B & Bs will give a person a discount if you pay in cash. Would they give that same discount if you paid with Travelers Cheques? Also what are your thoughts on travelers cheques vs. carry lots of cash, I am a student and really don't like the idea of paying fees everytime I go to the ATM to get cash.

Posted by
1883 posts

You will pay way more using traveler's checks than using your ATM. Don't travel with checks. Perhaps, get a debit / credit card from your bank and load it with the cash you've saved for your trip.

Better still, look into using a bank that has NO ATM fees. Compass is one of those in Denver. Open an account now before you go, get an ATM card. You will only pay the exchange rate.

Talk to the bank so you understand how the ATM fees work, but Compass offers a no fee anywhere in the world.

Some Credit unions also offer no fee ATM cards.

Bottom line...it will cost you lots more using traveler's checks than anyother way of paying for stuff - they are totally OLD SCHOOL. They are NOT cash, and most hotels, B & B's don't even know what they are anymore !!

Posted by
11507 posts

Hi Halley, No one uses tc anymore.. I haven't used them in 15 years...
They are hard to use, and especially in small hotels and cafes, they won't take them.

It is better to use your atm card, have your limit raised so you can take out money every 4 or 5 days,,and keep bulk in your money belt or hotel safe, only carry a days worth with you .
Shop around for a bank or credit union that has the least amount of fees. I am lucky my bank account has no fee foriegn withdrawals , but it is a Canadain bank,, I am sure there is an American one that can work for you.

Posted by
153 posts

Halley

What Pat said.

Traveler's checks are 20th century. ATM's are everywhere.

Posted by
23310 posts