Please sign in to post.

Trip Report: 6 Days Solo in Edinburgh in Late June 2023, with Day Trips

Trip photos (in roughly reverse chronological order, so scroll up from the bottom!): https://www.icloud.com/sharedalbum/#B0PGfnH8tbviAC

This was my first international trip in 15 years, and my first solo one since the ’90s. It was a big deal for me, especially after four years of spending nearly all my waking hours sitting in front of a computer and working remotely. I got much help from the posts in these forums during my months of researching, planning, and preparing, and hope to return the favor with this report.

Why Edinburgh? I had read that it was a perfect destination for solo travelers, being both generally safe and very friendly. I had also seen marvelous photos of it shared via social media. And as a genealogy hobbyist, I wanted to visit the presumed home of some of my ancestors. My great-grandfather came to the U.S. from northeast England, but our surname is of Scottish origin, and I have numerous DNA matches with deep roots in Fife.

Major bonus points for Scotland having a high level of awareness of celiac disease and accommodating those of us with dietary restrictions; after scoping out menus online, I felt secure that I would have ample gluten-free dining options. But I nevertheless packed a supply of gluten-free foods (GF bread, instant oatmeal, almond butter, trail mix, almond-flour breakfast bars, and instant miso soup) as a backup.

With six full days in my visit, I decided to spend four days in the city and take two full-day trips outside it. I also booked two 2-hour walking tours for my city days, one in the Old Town and the other in the New Town and points west. The tours gave me a nice balance between time spent exploring on my own and time spent with other people.

Posted by
149 posts

Friday: Arrival day