Please sign in to post.

Rail passes

Why does anyone buy these things? With minor planning you get from one point to another for next to nothing. And certainly for less than a pass. I have been to Europe 3 times in 3 years. Each time, a rail pass was recommended by a travel agent, a web site, a travel guide. Each time I was able to take 4 people through out the continent for far less than the cost of one pass! RESEARCH and plan! i used east coast trains website direct via National rail and scored seats from Edinburgh to London for $100 for 4 seats! Tours to Paris on the high speed train? $19 each! London to Portsmouth 8 euro each! Travel all over Bavaria? 25 euro for our party of 4! For 24 hours unlimited travel! I am no expert, I found all of these deals online and via phone apps! Our total train cost were less than $250-300 for a three week trip!

Posted by
12040 posts

"Why does anyone buy these things?" Here's one big reason why. Let's say you're just begining your research for your first European trip. You head to Google and type in "rail" or "trains" plus "Europe". Your first couple of hits are all sites owned either by Rail Europe or EUrail. Or, let's say you type "Germany" and "trains". The first hit is Deutsche Bahn, but it's displayed as "Bahn.com". Would any first time traveler automatically know that's the name of the German passenger rail company and that they sell tickets directly? But look a little further down in the search results. Now, you have more novice-friendly headings like "German Train Travel", "German Rail Pass", "Trains in Germany" etc. Guess who operates those websites? "Each time, a rail pass was recommended by a travel agent, a web site, a travel guide." They get a commission for the sales. Of course they'll recommend rail passes!

Posted by
10116 posts