Please sign in to post.

My 1989 Germany, Austria, Hungary, Switzerland trip

In the summer of 1989 I was a college student at San Francisco State University and with the summer off decided to go to central Europe. I had been to Europe several times before with family and staying with a host family in Germany and studied a semester in Freiburg Germany but had never had a generic, on my own summer trip.

I wanted to go to Hungary because by the spring of 1989 it was becoming clear to me that the end of communism might very well be at hand, so I wanted to see a communist country up close. I think I chose Hungary because I wanted to see Budapest, site of the 1956 anti-communist revolution, but since I had six weeks wanted to see other parts of Europe as well.
After a few days in Munich I went to Salzburg and saw the usual tourist stuff. I was using Lets Go Europe, which back then was a pretty popular guide book for young budget-minded Americans. After Salzburg I went to Gmunden am Traunsee in the Salzkammergut. I stayed there for a few days, enjoying the lake, hanging out, taking an alpine walk with my new American friend, a nice young lady from North Carolina. One thing I liked about Gmunden was that while it was touristy, it was not touristy geared for Americans, but rather for Austrians or Germans, and so had a more elegant feel to it.
Being interested in history I enjoyed meeing Micheal (last name forgotten) who was a Ukrainian soldier in World War two in the Soviet Army. He was captured by the Germans, and after the war somehow evaded Operation Keelhaul in which Soviet citizens (forced labourers in Germany, surviving POW;s etc) who found themselves west of the Soviet zone of conquest at the end of the war were handed back into Stalin's hands. I don't remember much of his story, such as how he evaded repatriation, but believe he spent most the post-war years in Austria.