Please sign in to post.

Japan during cherry blossom season 2023

I was very lucky to have the opportunity to visit Japan, one of my favorite countries for travel.
I am not good at writing travelogues, and therefore I will write in bullet points about certain significant aspects of my trip.

Travel planning and season
First and foremost, if you are considering traveling to Japan, go to japan-guide.com. This is the ultimate website to use. It's super helpful and even includes sample itineraries.

Japan offers four distinct seasons. The best are Spring and Fall, respectively, for cherry blossoms and foliage. This is also the time when crowds and lines exist. But don't be intimidated, because domestic tourists are polite and disciplined. People always line up neatly, even to take photos at vista points. Winter is also ok for skiing and the famous snow festivals in Hokkaido. In fact, some of the world's best ski resorts are in Japan. Summer is to be avoided, because it's very hot and humid, unless you are visiting the Okinawa islands in the south for their world-class beaches with turquoise water and white sand. Do note, however, that typhoons hit those islands from time to time in the summer and early fall months. Make sure your air tickets and hotels offer refunds.

Transportation
There is not much for me to add: Japan's public transit is excellent and second to none. Their trains are more punctual than their Swiss counterparts. However, note several things:

1. In major cities, there are often the subway, commuter trains, and long-distance trains. Not all trains are operated by the same company and your JR Rail Pass only covers trains operated by JR (which used to be owned by the government) and perhaps local transit. Some rail lines are operated by private companies, and these lines are not covered by the rail pass.