Please sign in to post.

Family Trip to Switzerland, June 2024

We have just returned from a fantastic family trip to Switzerland! I have enjoyed reading everyone's write-ups about their trips so I thought I would add mine here for others to read and hopefully to pass on some of our gained travel knowledge. :)

About us: We are a family of five from Anchorage, AK: Me, my husband, and our three boys (9, 7, 4). I am a teacher so summers are my opportunity to go on extended trips. My husband is a pilot and has been all over the world. Our two oldest sons go to a German immersion school. All of our children do well on plane trips and have plenty of practice on 4+ hour flights since Alaska is far from everywhere.

Why Switzerland? Every so often I start to google flight prices to places we want to go. Condor flies directly from Anchorage to Frankfurt and last July was offering a $600-ish r/t ticket between the two cities for basic economy. I talked my husband into it, but he only bit when I said, "oh look, we could fly into Frankfurt and return from Zurich!" He said, "ooh, Switzerland..." Switzerland it was.

Researching: Early on, I created a word document with our itinerary days on it and our hard times of arrival and return. Every weekend morning, I would drink a cup or two of coffee and read everything I could about others' trips to Switzerland, editing my travel document and entering hikes, activities, or locations that would be of interest to us. My resources included: