Please sign in to post.

Budapest, Vienna, Bratislava April 2023

I've learned a lot from this forum so hopefully some will find these notes of our very recent trip helpful.
Overview: My wife and I visited these three cities with 7 nights on ground (yes, too short, especially for Budapest but it's the time we had). I had been to Budapest and Vienna 40 years ago as a college student, my wife never. 2 Nights Budapest, 4 nights Vienna, 1 night back in Budapest. Budapest is completely different from the gray, rundown, communist city I saw in '83. Vienna (like me I hope!) is less changed, still elegant and aging gracefully. Vienna is in the same major league as Paris, London etc. for palaces, art, museums, etc. Budapest isn't, but a lovely city with an interesting ambiance, especially with the Danube flowing through the center (in Vienna, the river is far from the center city). Bratislava a good daytrip from Vienna.