Please sign in to post.

"April in Paris"

Introduction:
My fifth visit to Europe, first to Paris. My husband and I, both mid-60’s, love history, archaeology, gardens, and taking photographs. This trip was added on to a Mediterranean cruise (Barcelona to the west coast of Italy and back) so we started the week already recovered from the jet lag caused by flying from our home near Washington, DC.

Research tools include this forum, the Rick Steves Pocket Paris Guide, DK Paris, and advice from friends. I took a 12-week class at the community college to reacquaint myself with a language I studied forty years ago.

Arrival:April 22, 2018
During the planning we decided to take the TGV train from Barcelona to Paris. It’s about six hours, so a little longer than by air (reaching the airport two hours ahead, flight time, travel from CDG into Paris) but we admired the countryside, wrote postcards, processed photos, etc. Luckily this wasn’t a strike day but that possibility wasn’t something we considered when we dreamed up the idea. We grabbed a cab from Gare de Lyons to l’Hotel des Deux Iles, on l’Ile Saint Louis. I had imagined I’d be dying to walk the streets but it was almost 9 pm and raining, so we settled in and called it a night.

Monday April 23, 2018
Sainte Chapelle, Seine cruise, Notre Dame
“Wow I’m in Paris!”
The security line looked long at Notre Dame so we started our day at nearby Sainte Chapelle (bought the 6-day Museum Pass at the tabac across the street). The windows are so beautiful! Pictures just don’t do it justice. There’s a statue on the balcony that I mention here because I’m guessing it’s Jesus Christ but wasn’t sure and he was standing on some interesting animals. Help me out, Paris lovers. My Google skills failed me on this. Guess I should have bought the book.